top of page

Art of Letter Writing

February 4, 2016

Dear Letter Writing,

Initially it was the nostalgia that drew me to the idea of writing letters to people instead of writing a narrative essay. I thought that letter writing was simply another form of communication between people. I remember reading letters from an uncle in the marines, and then postcards from a friend who had to spend a summer away from home. As I got older I sent and received less letters and I missed it. I thought it was just me and my talent at being melodramatic when it comes to words, but apparently I am not the only one who loves this hidden gem, this lost form of art. I learned that there was a reason I was so connected to this particular form of writing and why it made such a great assignment.

As I began to prepare the lecture I was surprised by the journals and research I found supporting why letter writing is important. I found TED talks and books written about this art. Turns out there was a reason I loved it so much. I read more than a few articles that stated writing letters deepens one’s connection to another. It also enhances one’s mood. These two reasons alone are critical in this time of disconnect as a result of social media. Also, it’s the heart of winter, complete with sunless days, freezing winds etc…We could all use some non-habit forming mood stabilizers. Week one of class lectures seemed to teach themselves as I presented this information to my classes. The students listened. They didn’t even fake listen as they sometimes do. Like on occasion I will be presenting ideas and a student will look up and we lock eyes and they nod their head as if their listening but I can tell behind their expressionless eyes they’re really processing a recently read text. Either way I saw less of that. I could see they were anxious at the opportunity to connect with someone they love by form of a hand-written letter.

Going forward, this assignment will evolve as all lessons do. But I gotta say, I love the core of it. I love the intimacy of hand-writing. I love the three paragraph demi-structure. I love that my students trusted me on this one, especially so early in the semester when they don’t know me very well yet. Yesterday, I began grading their letter-essays. They were good. Some were very moving and truthfully some, of course, were half-assed. Overall though, I am happy with this and look forward to teaching it again. Thank you letter writing, for still standing. I hope we can continue to breathe more life into you.

Sincerely,

Mrs. H


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page