top of page

The Girl in the Driveway


Sometimes I wonder if she saw me in the window. Part of me wanted to think she saw my silhoutte there, and felt comforted by it. But my other, more anxious side, thought maybe it was better if she didn't see me at all.

It was 3:32 when Huckleberry, my 85 pound pitbull woke me from the couch, with a low, wet growl. It was a growl I'd never heard before, one that would clearly terrify anyone who didn't know him. He looked toward the kitchen window, that faced the neighbor's driveway. Just then, the headlights from the parked pick up truck flashed on, flooding my kitchen and living room with blinding white light. Huck lept off the couch in a defensive fury and ran toward the window so fast, that I thought he would jump right through the glass and eat who ever was getting inside the truck. Strange I thought. Where would old man Frank be going at this hour? Then, outlined in white light I saw a girl, late teens maybe, long dark hair, slim figure, climb into the passenger's seat.

For a moment I swore she saw me, as she glanced over her shoulder. Maybe she saw me and considered asking for help. Although I couldn't see her face, I could feel that perhaps she needed me. But how could that be possible? Frank's granddaughter was known to have tiffs with her parents and often sought refuge at her grandparent's house. Still though, something must be wrong so I sent a quick thought of love, like a whispered prayer, because it was the witching hour and anybody out so late must be in need of something. Down the driveway they went and once they reached the end, the truck peeled out, kicking up gravel. I felt my heart pinch with worry but my tired mind and body won out, and back to sleep I went.

In the morning though, before coffee had been sipped I noticed my cell phone was missing from my unlocked car. After a call to the police, a young ambitious officer was able to track my cell phone down two towns over, disptach another officer who pulled over the truck and arrested the couple inside; the couple who had stolen my neighbor's truck, after they stole my cell phone. The phone was in the purse of the girl, the girl in the driveway, the one with long hair who possibly glanced my way in the darkness only hours before. The girl who I believed felt the love I sent her way.

"She's going to jail", the officer said. "Maybe for a while with a stolen car and all".

"Where is she now?" I asked.

"She's locked up. Bail is set too high.

"Is she hungry? Is she scared? Can I make her breakfast? Can I hug her? Can I save her?"

Mrs?" The officer was looking at me. "Any questions before I leave?"

"So that's it?" I asked lifting my shoulders in confusion.

"Yep. Call me if you have any questions." He turned and walked the length of the driveway to his car. It felt as if he was walking in slow motion.

The sky was cloudless. It was summer. The air felt soft and warm. Huck sat next to me absorbing the despair I felt, in a form I couldn't quite recognize. I had the entire day to myself and all I wanted was to be by the side of the girl who I saw in the driveway.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page